4.23 Exit Stage Left

Ozawa leaned forward, forearms on the desktop. “Boncoeur, why did your cousin send the drugs to you this time?”

I leaned back in my chair, out of reach from those meaty hands of his, and replied, “I honestly don’t know.”

Ozawa sat back in his chair and let out a groan.

“If it’s alright with you,” I said, “I’d like to use the restroom.”

“Make it quick,” he said, waving me away.

I got up and left the interrogation room. It had grown dark outside. A clock on the wall showed eight-thirty. I’d been with the Narcotics and Customs agents for nearly twelve hours and, yet, I wasn’t the least bit tired. My mind was still racing at five miles a minute. Had that been fast enough to keep me paces ahead of Ozawa and Nakata?

In the restroom, I splashed water on my face and, taking several deep breaths, considered what I had told the two men, and, more crucially, what I had not. After rehearsing how I was going to answer Ozawa’s question, I returned to the interrogation room.

_______________________________________________________________________

注意:この作品はフィクションです。登場人物、団体等、実在のモノとは一切関係ありません。

© Aonghas Crowe, 2010. All rights reserved.

~ by Aonghas Crowe on January 4, 2010.

Leave a comment